Home
News
rFactor 2
rFactor 1
Forums
Contact
Company
Technology
Image Space Inc. YouTube rFactor 2 Twitter Image Space Inc. Google Plus rFactor 2 Facebook
Mediafire
Try or Buy rFactor 2
$43.99/84.99 Windows Only PCDL
Download rFactor 2 Demo Now!

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 650 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Video animations?

  1. #1
    Jorgen's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden

    Video animations?

    Does rF2 do video animations in a similar fashion to how rF1 did? I have a few .bik (Bink video) files that are mapped as the texture in combination with an animation type of "Video" in a track conversion I'm working on, but leaving them enabled crashes the game during track loading. Can these still be done, and if so, how? The track technology PDF mentions frame buffer animations, but that seems more like playback of what's happening on screen in the game, not a playback of a pre-recorded movie.

  2. #2
    Jorgen's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Now that 3DSimED is updated, the game doesn't crash on these animations anymore, but the videos do not play. (And I do have "Play Movies=1" in my player file, which I didn't at first, doh...) Does anyone know if these types of movie animations are still supported? ISI?

  3.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #3
    Luc Van Camp's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @ISITrackTeam 

    Location
    Belgium
    They haven't even been mentioned internally for quite a few years, so it's fair to assume they are no longer supported. If they are, they're obviously not working right now . For now, I'd suggest using a placeholder test TV signal image or, if possible, use the Frame Buffer. It looks great in trackside camera views .

  4. #4
    Jorgen's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I'm thinking of videos like the ones above the start/finish straights in Singapore and Abu Dhabi. Frame buffer videos won't do there, so is there an alternative? (but frame buffers are of course great for jumbotron TV screens, pit wall monitors etc) It would be good if someone "in the loop" could hint on whether they are supposed to work or if there's something new in the works.

  5.   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #5
    Luc Van Camp's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @ISITrackTeam 

    Location
    Belgium
    I can see your point, but there are no plans to support them, sorry.
    You could try using a texture animation though, with the still frame between each transition being repeated X times.

  6. #6
    ethone's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification rF2 Rank Laptimes Modding Group: virtua_lm 

    Registered
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Düsseldorf, Germany
    For the jumbotrons at the tracks a proper .bik is much more accurate. I haven't checked in a while but early on the frame buffer had a bug in the exporter, I couldn't get it to work with 3ds max 2010 or 2011 but another member of the team got it to work using 8. Only to find out that it had alpha sorting issues which was bad news for jumbotrons behind fences...

    If you try the frame buffer material, please let me know if it works now.

  7. #7
    jpalesi's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race rF2 Rank Laptimes 

    Registered
    Sep 2011
    And without .bik, I won't be able to get a proper jumbotron. I made a short one for Indy rF1, and it had around 300 frames. Frame by frame won't be practical.
    Too bad it disappeared since it was in rF

    vlcsnap-2012-02-26-19h29m45s39.jpg

  8. #8
    Nibiru's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race Modding Group 

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Has anyone got the frame buffer to work? and how do you do it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •