Home
News
rFactor 2
rFactor 1
Forums
Contact
Company
Technology
Image Space Inc. YouTube rFactor 2 Twitter Image Space Inc. Google Plus rFactor 2 Facebook
Tracks
Try or Buy rFactor 2
$43.99/84.99 Windows Only PCDL
Download rFactor 2 Demo Now!

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 850 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Massive performance boost!!!!!!!!shift+1

  1. #1
    MarcG's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brighton, UK

    Massive performance boost!!!!!!!!shift+1

    As the story goes I've ordered a new GPU, decided just now to open my case up and give the place a bit of a hoover...having not done this for several years you can imagine the amount of dust accumulation....but that was'nt the reason for an FPS boost. I noticed I had two PCI-E slots, obviously when I built the thing 4 years ago I never bothered to read about PCI-E x16/x8/x4 slots at all....turns out my trustee old 9600GT has been sat in the same slot for fours years.....so I fired up RF2 and a quick FPS test I was getting an average of 70fps (wont go into settings details no need)

    So in my brilliant wisdom I checked my Mobo manual and sure enough the empty slot...with 4 years worth of dust...was in fact the x16 slot...I had her in the x4 slot all this time....so the switch over was made and a quick jump into RF2 and sure enough a WHOPPING 30fps extra....no joke, no lie, hand on heart 30fps extra!

    So in conclusion, CHECK what PCI-E slots you have and maybe...just maybe you made a schoolboy error like me!




  2. #2
    DrR1pper's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Apr 2012
    Location
    UK


    SOLVED


    lol, but seriously...glad you found it out.

    Soonest is better than later.....but better late than never.

  3. #3
    BasJon's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    England
    wow yes that would give a good boost glad your sorted

  4. #4
    blakboks's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Somewhere between NYC and Montreal
    Hahah...that reminds me of when I built my first PC. I had the FSB jumpers on the MOBO set to "Safe Mode" (133 Mhz FSB) for 1 or 2 years before I realized it...I was wondering why it failed every time I tried to OC the damn thing... Needless to say (but I'm going to anyway) it ran a WHOLE LOT faster setting it to normal mode.

    The great thing is, though...I'm sure neither of us will make these mistakes again!

  5. #5
    MarcG's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Quote Originally Posted by blakboks View Post
    Hahah...that reminds me of when I built my first PC. I had the FSB jumpers on the MOBO set to "Safe Mode" (133 Mhz FSB) for 1 or 2 years before I realized it...I was wondering why it failed every time I tried to OC the damn thing... Needless to say (but I'm going to anyway) it ran a WHOLE LOT faster setting it to normal mode.

    The great thing is, though...I'm sure neither of us will make these mistakes again!
    yeah I'm kinda annoyed with myself though that I never realised this before, can now race at Monaco with low settings just fine whereas I could'nt before! Gonna be a world apart still from my new GPU though so at least I can look to even better settings with that!

  6. #6
    MJP's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Oh Marc lol, I've recently upgraded my cpu/mobo/ram and your post made me double check my vid card (it's in the x16 slot) lol.

    Just out of interest which card you gone for I'm too on the lookout for a new GPU preferably Nvidia but they don't seem to be launching anything new around the price point I'm looking at ~GBP200. If I played something other than rF1/2 I'd probably have had an AMD HD7850 by now, been some good deals around on these cards and they o/c really well too.

  7. #7
    MarcG's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    yeah I've gone for the 7850, this is a great deal and I got 10% off:
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-052-HS

    Plenty of OC'ing advice in the Graphics Card section here, seems 7850s OC very well indeed:
    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/index.php

    if you 'Like' their Facebook page and then e-mail them to say you've done so you'll get the 10% off voucher like I did. My first time going to ATi, been nVidia since forever I think.

  8. #8
    CdnRacer's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Location
    Guess
    WTF?! LOL. That's funny.

  9. #9
    MarcG's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    BF3 is now playable too, I had it on lowest settings before and it would'nt run smoothly enough, now on the same settings I get an average of mid 30s.....still not good enough for a first person shooter but I can at least play a bit of before friday!

  10. #10
    Guy Moulton's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile YouTube Channel Where I race LiveRacers Driver Page 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    But you know what? If you hadn't have done that all these many years ago, you wouldn't have gotten a "free" GPU upgrade today. I'll bet it's just like getting a new video card, isn't it?

    THAT is a masterful bit of self-trickery to save yourself $200. Well played, sir!
    www.virtualsportscarracing.com For the best quality Sportscar racing on the net. We race several different sims, check us out today.

  11. #11
    Rojas's Avatar
     

    New Member
    Oct 2010
    A Very cool read.
    Well done

  12. #12
    mikeyk1985's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Not Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    In the future, the slot that's highest on the motherboard will be the fastest, hate for anyone else to waste performance for x amount of years.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •