Home
News
rFactor 2
rFactor 1
Forums
Contact
Company
Technology
Image Space Inc. YouTube rFactor 2 Twitter Image Space Inc. Google Plus rFactor 2 Facebook
Tracks
Try or Buy rFactor 2
$43.99/84.99 Windows Only PCDL
Download rFactor 2 Demo Now!

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 880 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 152

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: The second update - Build 69

  1.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #81
    Tim Wheatley's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @timwheatley1979 YouTube Channel Twitch/Streaming Channel Photo/Screenshot sharing profile 

    Location
    USA (Central)
    Quote Originally Posted by feels3 View Post
    Thanks Tim but I was asking only about the technical details so that I could locate my problem and continue with track progress.
    Have you tried letting the sun go down further like it is in the screen from 3 weeks ago. The one with the longer shadow has a lower sun, the one with the shorter one has a higher one and should look flatter and more bleached out?

  2.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #82
    Tim Wheatley's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @timwheatley1979 YouTube Channel Twitch/Streaming Channel Photo/Screenshot sharing profile 

    Location
    USA (Central)
    And I'm not arguing - we are adjusting graphics engine - but you said same time of day and I can see it isn't. That's all.

  3.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #83
    Tim Wheatley's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @timwheatley1979 YouTube Channel Twitch/Streaming Channel Photo/Screenshot sharing profile 

    Location
    USA (Central)
    Links fixed for full installer.

  4. #84
    Pits's Avatar

     Where I race 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Tim Wheatley "this is what we're supposed to be doing, no?"
    This is good to hear.

    I was wondering if the graphics were a continual work in motion, I read the latest update had nothing to do with graphics, that made me wonder why I was getting an extra 2 frames but no work done on it, since it's the only thing I care about it's the only thing I look at with each update, because it's the only thing that slows me down.

    My wish list

    At least double more frames (so I can have the option of putting on the other two screens as is my want)
    Something done with the external sounds (not a helpful statement I know)
    Rain on the windscreen (in the promo that did look amazing)

    A BIG must (say it with caps and it means a lot of course )
    For us who can't setup a car I have a formula in RF1 in BASIC setup that works just using the sliders, I see no "BASIC" in RF2 and this really hurts.

    To be picky
    The tires look like that old microsoft F1 sim from 10 years ago, more like a balloon and since I look at them a lot it matters (it looks like just a texture fix to my uninformed view)
    The heat shimmer is just weird and to much
    Track and field contrast is to "milky" looking
    After seeing "another sim" the shadows could be a lot better

    What I enjoy

    The driving experience is just brilliant, there is indeed a "WoW" factor in the old F3, F2's plus there is the "big scary" in the old F1's.
    Racing with others works better than RF1, there is far more involvement in the driving experience.

    It is a great sim but I honestly think another year in development before a beta would have painted a better picture imo.
    I would have easily waited.

    Those two pictures were dishonest but I do wonder to increase frames for now the easy way is to cut down on "the look" personally I think it's a good idea to do it at the dev side not game options, for us not so computer orientated people.

  5. #85
    BasJon's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    England
    I will talk to my clan mate tomorrow as he found a fix for the windows, we released our own custom megane mod all tracks named "IsR Custom" it has the all the tracks that people have released aswell as the default ones and we have 16 car skins in there and none have the window bug
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Wheatley View Post
    Not yet. I'm the only person on the test team who has it, so please provide more info on your system and if it happens for you on multiple cars, or which glass.

  6. #86
    BasJon's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    England
    yes I got the same but then I checked in settings and saw an option now for Enviroment Reflection with that turned on the cars are nice and glossy but its a big fps hitter.
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyk1985 View Post
    Does anyone else have an issue where reflections don't work on the GT cars? Strange because they work on all the others.

  7. #87
    BasJon's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    England
    Tim I would like to ask will there be a fix for the constant fps going up and down so much, I have never had any other game that goes from 60 fps to 240 in the same one minute of time, surely the fps should change by a max of about 30 ish either way. And can I ask for one thing on the next update please change the volume pitch of the announcer at start of races and joining the server its far too loud was the same in rf1 I deleted the file in last game.

  8. #88
    Spacekid's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Location
    Germany
    Knowledgeable member
    Quote Originally Posted by BasJon View Post
    Tim I would like to ask will there be a fix for the constant fps going up and down so much, I have never had any other game that goes from 60 fps to 240 in the same one minute of time, surely the fps should change by a max of about 30 ish either way. And can I ask for one thing on the next update please change the volume pitch of the announcer at start of races and joining the server its far too loud was the same in rf1 I deleted the file in last game.
    At its current beta stage, there are up and downs depending on the code. ISI is aware of that and trys to improve it on every build.
    "rFactor - Simulation for the Soul!"

  9. #89
    FraG's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK
    It is complete madness what is now required just to play the megane mod with other tracks imo. Why have ISI designed it this way? Is it going to be fixed? Nobody is going to be playing rf2 custom tracks unless they perform the overcomplicated tasks of installing such packages as ISR's to force other tracks to work with the mod... Totally confusing and ridiculous!

  10.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #90
    Tim Wheatley's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @timwheatley1979 YouTube Channel Twitch/Streaming Channel Photo/Screenshot sharing profile 

    Location
    USA (Central)
    Quote Originally Posted by BasJon View Post
    I will talk to my clan mate tomorrow as he found a fix for the windows, we released our own custom megane mod all tracks named "IsR Custom" it has the all the tracks that people have released aswell as the default ones and we have 16 car skins in there and none have the window bug
    That would be good. Nobody in ISI except me can reproduce, and my skins work perfect for them. Please mail to timw@imagespaceinc.com with info of you want, or PM.

  11.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #91
    Tim Wheatley's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @timwheatley1979 YouTube Channel Twitch/Streaming Channel Photo/Screenshot sharing profile 

    Location
    USA (Central)
    Quote Originally Posted by FraG View Post
    It is complete madness what is now required just to play the megane mod with other tracks imo. Why have ISI designed it this way? Is it going to be fixed? Nobody is going to be playing rf2 custom tracks unless they perform the overcomplicated tasks of installing such packages as ISR's to force other tracks to work with the mod... Totally confusing and ridiculous!
    It was felt the upside outweighed the downside. But we appreciate you posting to voice your view on it.

  12. #92
    jerrymcc's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Just like to reiterate the clumsiness of the series/cars/tracks interface. Now, with 6 or 8 tracks, and 20 or so vehicles, thumbing through that rolodex interface is becoming a real pain.

    This isn't Shift or Dirt or any of those other "games", and I believe simracers here want a logical straightforward way to find the series, car, or track they want in the fewest steps.

    What was wrong with the folder style structure in rF1? Please don't fix what isn't broken.

  13. #93
    Crankee Stroka's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race Modding Group: MoFo Eng Co 

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Siderknee
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Wheatley View Post
    Hi folks,

    Thanks again for being testers. Thanks,

    Tim
    No Tim & ISI, thank YOU
    It sooo cool to have invested in "lifetime" and be involved with rF2 Beta.
    CheerZ!

  14. #94
    Mulero's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by FraG View Post
    It is complete madness what is now required just to play the megane mod with other tracks imo. Why have ISI designed it this way? Is it going to be fixed? Nobody is going to be playing rf2 custom tracks unless they perform the overcomplicated tasks of installing such packages as ISR's to force other tracks to work with the mod... Totally confusing and ridiculous!
    +1

    Took a week trying to create a server with the Megane and Mid-Ohio and I have not yet achieved. And if one day make it, so I will be worth if you can not get anyone?

    This system does not work and is very complicated to use. Can have very many good things but they are more disadvantages than advantages.

    A simple solution to this problem would be possible to create a server to handle the series All Cars & Tracks. We could easily create a game with the car we wanted in any circuit. Anyone could enter the server to have the components installed and would be perfectly compatible with the Mod ID system.

  15. #95
    Jaageri's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Finland
    I think that one problem is with some people that they really can't understand what beta phase means as you buy it, they truly seem to believe that it would work without any trouble because you paid real money for it.
    I think it still works much better then some games that have been released in the last 6 months.

    I'm not using any new plugins by modders and have always removed the .plr file before updates.

    As for b.69, it works very good on my spec pc, b.68 was terrible.
    - Autoupdate went as it should without any problems.
    - 1680x1050 with almost max settings, shadows low and no hdr, 10 cars on any track any series, average fps is 90 and very smooth.
    - Nvidia 295.73beta driver in use but still getting blue screen on boot up sometimes. 296.10 gave a lot of blue screen at boot up.
    - Sounds are better then any other racing game i've played, still Endurance Series SP2 GT cars for RF1 rock!
    - AI has improved also, not seeing repeating crashing in same corners by AI if i restart the race and there not banging my behind like in RF1.
    - Text is still overlapping each other and making it hard to read, lap times, sector times, team/car names, laps and positions in pit window, i'll try to post a picture of this problem so you may understand this problem better.

    Keep up the great work!
    GO JENSON GO!
    Last edited by Jaageri; 03-18-12 at 04:29 AM. Reason: forgot a problem

  16. #96
    Jaageri's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Quote Originally Posted by jerrymcc View Post
    Just like to reiterate the clumsiness of the series/cars/tracks interface. Now, with 6 or 8 tracks, and 20 or so vehicles, thumbing through that rolodex interface is becoming a real pain.

    This isn't Shift or Dirt or any of those other "games", and I believe simracers here want a logical straightforward way to find the series, car, or track they want in the fewest steps.

    What was wrong with the folder style structure in rF1? Please don't fix what isn't broken.
    +1

    I think that there are allready modders that have changed it for there mod packs they are creating, just waiting for some of them to release it!!!

  17. #97
    mikeyk1985's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Not Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaageri View Post
    +1

    I think that there are allready modders that have changed it for there mod packs they are creating, just waiting for some of them to release it!!!
    Exactly, the interface is customisable and we're very early in the beta process....people need to chill out and stop looking for problems.

  18. #98
    Rikki's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Feb 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Rikki View Post
    With 69 I don't have stuttering issues anymore. But now the ai cars seems to suffer from warping. I'm not sure how to describe it but only the cars seem to (extreme) stutter, like with a refresh of 1 fps. Also the cars seems to go back and forth a few meters at the time. The rest of the objects (track, player car, etc) are stutter free. And this only happens when I'm driving the car. And only if the other cars are near, the further away, less warping. If I let AI race all the cars then no warping. With vsync on far less warping but still noticeable. I'm on latest nvidia drivers.
    Video showing warping/stuttering (most obvious with last car to pass):
    https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=1fbbd...CFBB8373B1!133

    [Update]
    Turned out it I was totally to blame. My laptop has 4 powerscheme's and it was running on "quiet office" instead of "high performance". After correcting no more warping/stuttering!
    Last edited by Rikki; 03-19-12 at 05:07 AM.

  19. #99
    taufikp's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification rF2 Rank Laptimes 

    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Location
    INDONESIA
    Wow! That's pretty serious problem! :O

  20. #100
    BYF's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Just auto updated to build 69, but no new content has been added e.g the Nissans. I've now read this has to be downloaded separately and installed manually, it's been a while since I did this and I forgot.

    I would much prefer if new ISI cars/tracks content is installed as part of the auto-update and new build so the whole process is streamlined amd integrated.
    E5200 @ 3ghz, ATI 4870 1GB, 4GB Ram, Win XP

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •