NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 204 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 161

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: All Thrustmaster T500 rs owners come to this thread!!!

  1. #21
    samuelkorthof's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Wizz View Post
    I've been running rF2 since it's launch with all the settings at max and a G27, which after some .ini file tweeks and setting changes, it runs and feels awesome (as does rF2).

    I've never paid much attention to the T500RS, due to the lack of drivers and that I've always been a Logitech person for wheels (GT, DFP, G25 & G27). I knew the T500RS was meant to be good, but because of the chat in these rF2 forums and info about drivers, I decided to research it further. I was reading the T500RS specs & info, when I noticed the full size replica F1 2011 addon wheel, that's been released for the T500RS. With all those lovely buttons to assign and use, as well as all the FFB software and hardware technology, the decision to get one, was a no brainer. So, now it's ordered and should be here tomorrow and I can't wait!!! Thanks guys for posting your info on the T500RS and that it works with rF2.

    I noticed on Terence's post about the wrong name for the T500RS controller profile name, is this just a case of renaming the ini file and any references to the T500RS in the ini file?

    Anyway, cheers for now and I'll catch up when I've used this awsome looking wheel...
    P.S. Once I get the T500RS-F1 setup and I've done some running with it, I'll give a quick comparison between the two wheels and settings if anyone wants.
    Good choice. You will not be disappointed. As I said this is the first sim that made my t500rs come alive. I´ve also got the F1 addon with FR3.5 it is a blast. Make sure you update the firmware (wheel itself) and the drivers. Their is also a brake mod too give the brake pedal more resistance in the box. Install this the right way and it could be helpfull especialy for openwheelers. As you can read lots of t500rs owners to help you out. NOTE: I replaced a g25 and still try new sims on both wheels to feel the difference.

  2. #22
    Wizz's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Apr 2011
    Thanks for that Samuel, I knew about the firmware and drivers and it's pretty cool that they've put the Brake mod in the box, that'll save me time having to get one or make one (like I did for my G27).

    It's also good to know that someone has used the T500RS with the new F1 wheel on rF2, at least I now know it's going to work. However, I'm intending to try and use the F1 wheel for ALL my racing, but that will depend on how it feels with the other cars etc. Or, do you use it with non F1 cars as well? If so, do you find it's ok, or is the T500RS wheel better....

    (I just really like the idea of having all the buttons I could want, on the wheel for easy use and more realism).

  3. #23
    Duvel's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Hopefully TM will come out with a nice GT wheel rim at some point, something like this would be great:

    Last edited by Duvel; 01-16-12 at 09:43 AM.

  4. #24
    Wizz's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Apr 2011
    O'yeah, but without the price tag...

  5. #25
    LesiU's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race Modding Group: SimRacingPL 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    I must say I'm positively suprised with how T500RS works in rF 2. First thing that came to my head after few corners at Monaco in F3 was - damn, it's like nK Pro! Good stuff

  6. #26
    HappyCamper's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Newer Member
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Quote Originally Posted by LesiU View Post
    I must say I'm positively suprised with how T500RS works in rF 2. First thing that came to my head after few corners at Monaco in F3 was - damn, it's like nK Pro! Good stuff
    Yes indeed, it sure feels sweet on the T500RS.

    I said the same thing to myself and few corners in at Mills in the Megane. I also love how well it feels with the Formula Renault as well.
    Brings a smile to my face every time.

  7. #27
    samuelkorthof's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Wizz View Post
    Thanks for that Samuel, I knew about the firmware and drivers and it's pretty cool that they've put the Brake mod in the box, that'll save me time having to get one or make one (like I did for my G27).

    It's also good to know that someone has used the T500RS with the new F1 wheel on rF2, at least I now know it's going to work. However, I'm intending to try and use the F1 wheel for ALL my racing, but that will depend on how it feels with the other cars etc. Or, do you use it with non F1 cars as well? If so, do you find it's ok, or is the T500RS wheel better....

    (I just really like the idea of having all the buttons I could want, on the wheel for easy use and more realism).
    I use the wheel as it would be in reallife. So in GT cars I use GT wheel and in openwheelers I use the F1 wheel. The F1 wheel is not very practical with steeringlock over 300 degrees. Also I prefer an as real as it can be experience (nerd alert). Big plus of the F1 is that the shiftpedals rotate with the wheel. You can also easily mod the G27 to fit on the t500rs base but you wouldn´t have buttons. I would buy the F1 package and mod my g25 wheel if I had to choose. Driving a openwheeler with a big wheel like the t500rs GT (It is a bit larger then the g25/27) won´t give you the full experience and control. With openwheelers you tend to shift up or down more during a corner. I found it not comfortable finding the shiftpedal because they are static.

  8. #28
    Wizz's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Apr 2011
    I hear you Samuel, I too like it to be as real as it can be and I also take onboard your comment about the rotation. However, I do like the thought of the shiftpadles moving with the wheel (like my G27 and real car). I'll wait untill the T500RS and the F1 addon wheel arrive tomorrow, then I'll start testing like a maniac to set it all up and get used to it, to then see how it feels.

  9. #29
    Gov's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Newer Member
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Springfield, Mo
    Quote Originally Posted by Duvel View Post
    Hopefully TM will come out with a nice GT wheel rim at some point, something like this would be great:


    You mean like this?





  10. #30
    samuelkorthof's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Can u show the way you attached the momo to the t500 base?

  11. #31
    Gov's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Newer Member
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Springfield, Mo
    http://simracnwheels.com/index.php?m...d8f3280f875f8d

    T500 wheel adapter and I use an NRG quick release.

  12. #32
    John's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Photo/Screenshot sharing profile Where I race Modding Group: F1C 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by LesiU View Post
    What is the reason for having "Periodic" set to 70% and "Spring" to 18%?
    Sorry - didn't see the question before.

    I bought the wheel 10 months ago, and spent ages experimenting to get realfeel sorted - every single bit of info for realfeel is for the Logitech wheels - so I basically had to go it alone. Those settings are my RF1 with realfeel settings. I am very happy with them, but seeing Techade is now using a T500, maybe I need to try his settings instead.

    @ Techade - are you using those settings in RF1 as well?

  13. #33
    Duvel's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Gov View Post
    You mean like this?

    Nice

    Close, but on the site their prices are quite massive, and no shifters any more makes these a little to niche for me.

  14. #34
    TechAde's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile @TechAde 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cardiff
    Quote Originally Posted by John View Post
    @ Techade - are you using those settings in RF1 as well?
    Yes, I use the same T500RS control panel settings in all the sims I run.

    For those that are wondering why I have overall strength set to only 60%, it's because testing has shown that 60% is about as linear as the T500RS gets, going over 60% doesn't actually produce any higher forces it just makes the response curve no longer linear (like going over 100% on Logitech wheels).

    I'm finding the most important setting of all for rF2 is the per-vehicle FFB multiplier, in effect this directly controls the MaxForce as it was known with RealFeel. The default is 1.0 for all cars but in my subjective testing so far I'm finding this is much too high for most of the beta cars and results in a lot of clipping (and small forces that feel like massive forces, just like if you were running RealFeel with MaxForce set too low).

  15. #35
    fedexpress's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Jan 2012
    @techade

    what should the per-vehicle be fore the megane?

  16. #36
    TechAde's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile @TechAde 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cardiff
    Quote Originally Posted by fedexpress View Post
    @techade

    what should the per-vehicle be fore the megane?
    I'd have to give it a try, I've not been back in the Megane since I spotted the per-vehicle multiplier. When I get time I'll run through all the vehicles and come up with some recommendations, might take me a while though sorry.

  17. #37
    deak1944's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification LiveRacers Driver Page rF2 Rank Laptimes 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Hi TechAde, Thanks for the settings! But the gain settings that are shown are different from the gain settings in the download. The download seems to be for rFactor 1.

    I just got the wheel yesterday and after rearranging my cockpit(this wheel is almost 3 times bigger that my DFGT!!), set the wheel multiplier for the Eve F1 to 0.4 and went out on Spa. I didn't understand why the wheel felt so "heavy". But then realized I was feeling the "weight" of the car! Then tried the Megane with the front ab all the way up and the rear rebound maxed out. Wow! Learning to drive all over again! But this wheel makes it so much easier to see where I'm making mistakes!

  18. #38
    TechAde's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile @TechAde 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Cardiff
    Quote Originally Posted by deak1944 View Post
    But the gain settings that are shown are different from the gain settings in the download. The download seems to be for rFactor 1.
    Wouldn't that be embarrassing!

    I just double checked and that's definitely my rFactor2 Controller.ini, if that's what you're meaning?

  19.   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #39
    Terence Groening's Avatar ISI Staff
     

    Location
    Ann Arbor
    Quote Originally Posted by Wizz View Post
    I noticed on Terence's post about the wrong name for the T500RS controller profile name, is this just a case of renaming the ini file and any references to the T500RS in the ini file?
    Yup, should be as simple as re-naming the file to "Thrustmaster T500 RS Racing wheel.ini" instead of "TRS Racing Wheel.ini". This of course refers to the GT one, not the Ferrari add-on, and we'll include that fix for our first update. Also in the first update, we'll start setting the steering lock on these Thrustmaster wheels to match the in-car setting, as we do for the Logitech G25/G27.

  20. #40
    LesiU's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race Modding Group: SimRacingPL 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Quote Originally Posted by Terence Groening View Post
    Yup, should be as simple as re-naming the file to "Thrustmaster T500 RS Racing wheel.ini" instead of "TRS Racing Wheel.ini". This of course refers to the GT one, not the Ferrari add-on, and we'll include that fix for our first update. Also in the first update, we'll start setting the steering lock on these Thrustmaster wheels to match the in-car setting, as we do for the Logitech G25/G27.
    So, that's possible for T500RS? Great! I'm looking forward to that feature

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •