Home
News
rFactor 2
rFactor 1
Forums
Contact
Company
Technology
Image Space Inc. YouTube rFactor 2 Twitter Image Space Inc. Google Plus rFactor 2 Facebook
Tracks
Try or Buy rFactor 2
$43.99/84.99 Windows Only PCDL
Download rFactor 2 Demo Now!

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 884 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 227

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: ATI graphics optimization

  1. #1
    NightnDay's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Meissen, Germany

    ATI graphics optimization

    Hi,

    this goes out to all the ATI card users.


    So as allway and with any game I have serious issues to get a good AA.

    At the moment, I force driver AA but it doesn´t work very well. Things far in the distance and stuff like fences just look horrible. For iRacing it works perfect.

    What I would like to see in this thread is a screen from your ccc settings and your ingame settings.

    Also I´m not sure of what to use....ingame AA or Driver AA ? and which specifications to get the max performance.
    Anybody with some settings out there?

    pls keep this thread related to the ATI users.
    Thank you

  2. #2
    shum94's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    There is a fps problem with ATI cards. I can run Crysis 2 and Battlefield 3 or Project Cars without problems and nice rendering, with rFactor 2 i can't.

  3. #3
    feels3's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @feels3 rF2 Rank Laptimes 

    Registered
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Poland
    I also have a problem.

    I have ATI 6770, core i3 3,1 Ghz, 8GB RAM and even with low/medium settings I have about 20fps.

  4. #4
    richiespeed13's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    +1

    ATI feels very neglected
    Live Fast, Die Young.
    Check out my YouTube!

  5. #5
    shum94's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Ok i'm up in the middle of the night, can't sleep so i tweaked rF 2. These offers pretty decent rendering and 30-60 fps on 1920x1080.

    rFactor 2 Video Setup.jpgrFactor 2 Graphic Settings Panel.jpgCCC Panel rFactor 2 part 1.jpgCCC Panel rFactor 2 part 2.jpg

  6. #6
    richiespeed13's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Nice wallpaper!

    And schumi, you running the game maxed almost, if I run those settings I get 9fps! :P

    But my PC is old! Only a 4870
    Live Fast, Die Young.
    Check out my YouTube!

  7. #7
    shum94's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    I think Anti Aliasing is the problem. Set application for aliasing and anisotropic in CCC and set in rF no anti aliasing and aniso on x2.
    Put performance everywhere in CCC but yes your graphic cards is getting old, i had it ehe.

    163360TP9sRacingGTRbyiacoski.jpg

  8. #8
    triebie's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Jan 2012
    i have a new HD6970 with the latest driver 11.12 and the graphics are absosutely miserable!
    First i had to set AA to 0 in the game settings to actually get the game to start , otherwise the game opens and all you see is a black screen with a mousepointer...
    So i had to let CCC override everything.

    Ingame the graphics are blurry , no sharpness at all and the textures are flickering.
    ISI has to improve this dramatically or all ATI users are way behind!!!!!!!!
    i have no probs with any other game but with rF2 everything is just looking very bad.

    so far for ATI users this game is not beta but early alpha!
    a lot of work to do till the final release!
    Last edited by triebie; 01-11-12 at 01:18 AM.

  9.   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #9
    Scott Juliano's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Not Validated PC Specification 

    Location
    Texas
    Just in passing, I have a 6970 here at 1080p and I get very good FPS with most settings on FULL or HIGH. I'm not saying there isn't an issue with ATI, but there isn't one across the board, so it will take some looking into for sure to see if certain configurations may be having a problem, etc. Any additional info will be helpful of course...

    Also, again just in passing, Use Application Settings IS recommended though, IIRC...
    __________________
    "There is no spoon..."

  10. #10
    Cracheur's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Luxembourg
    same issue here. best results you get by setting all driver setting to default except the aa mode on ssaa. this gives some performance hit and you might need to turn down detail level. gfx looks however pretty good like that. btw I use driver 12.1 beta. in game I have aa level 3.
    we know its beta and Isi certainly has to work on this... or maybe amd might do tweaking in the next drivers.

  11. #11
    furiousgibbon's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by triebie View Post
    i have a new HD6970 with the latest driver 11.12
    11.12 is the latest 'official' driver, but AMD strongly recommends using the 12.1a preview

    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...iewdriver.aspx

    I've been using 12.1 (haven't installed 12.1a yet) for months and it's been great.

    I run a single 5850 and am hoping to get decent performance at 5040x1050 (22" Eyefinity). Reports so far do not look good but a few more tedious hours of work and I'll get home to try it. Will post results later.

  12. #12
    Kevin Krause's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Newer Member
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Worked great!!! Thanks

    ATI 5850 xfire

    11.12 drivers

    30-60fps

    You just made my day. Thanks

  13. #13
    Jani Kankaanpää's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Finland
    i have ATI5970, (ingame AA Level3, AF 16x) default CCC and all max exept Shadows med or min. 15 AI drivers, FPS at start 30-40, in race steady 60fps with vSync

  14. #14
    triebie's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Jan 2012
    OK, couple hours later at least i figured it out to have nice graphics and descent FPS on my ATI card.

    THX for the hint to the 12.1a driver.
    I had to do a complete uninstall of all the old ATI stuff (drivers, apps etc.) and a new clean installation of the Beta driver.
    running on application controlled settings the game needs 20-30 secs. to update your settings if you change the AA level in game.

    running on level4 AA, HDR disabled and everything on max is running fine, anything above is too much for my PC.
    (Win7 64, Q9550@3.2gHz, 8GB Ram, ATI HD 6970)

    So excuses to ISI! it is not as bad as i first thought...but you need a lot of time to find the right settings with an ATI card...and you definitely need the newest drivers available to get the best image quality.

    So after all the fiddling i would say: not that bad but room for improvement for ATI users till the final release!

  15. #15
    Mee's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    No fps problems here at Monaco: I've got a single 6950, 1920x1080, HDR on with AA at level 3, I didn't change the in-game settings because it auto-selected most settings at high/full and I get around 60-80 fps at Monaco (with about 10 AI's). So not all ATI's suffer .

  16. #16
    Jose Casanovas's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Dec 2011
    Location
    A, A
    What the heck guys? 60 -80 fps, whats this? are u serious? In this conditions you cant finish a decent race, i used to race with 300-400 fps, the cpu, mem, usage cpu temp all are low and the fps are low, many different config, many test done it, and the result is a slow motion driving experience trying to recognise what the hell is the marks , theres only 1 thing good, the tribunes of the tracks, may be Tilke help you.
    The Force feedback effects, are prehistoric, no possibilities to change the amount of effects and the strenght oh these effects, u only can change the ffb multiplier of the car, u dont have a good feeling in the first moments in turn , then suddenly the car drops into a barrel, the video rendering of instant replay has a lot of flickering and the shadows are poor, the physics when the car rolls are exhagerated, if u touch another car so slightly , be rdy to disapeer into a washing machine turbulence.
    Braking and steering collide always, also with brake power low, setup changes have poor difference into track

    Rampage extrem mb I7 cpu

    8 gig ram

    6870 ati card
    Last edited by Jose Casanovas; 01-11-12 at 05:40 AM.

  17. #17
    Mee's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Quote Originally Posted by Jose Casanovas View Post
    What the heck guys? 60 -80 fps, whats this? are u serious? In this conditions you cant finish a decent race,
    Since my LCD screen has a refresh rate of 60 Hz I'm quite happy with anything above 60 fps...

  18. #18
    ZeosPantera's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Quote Originally Posted by richiespeed13 View Post
    Nice wallpaper!

    And schumi, you running the game maxed almost, if I run those settings I get 9fps! :P

    But my PC is old! Only a 4870
    I'm running fully maxed on my 1gig 4890 @ 1920x1200-85Hz and get between 20 and 30 frames pretty consistently. There may be something magical about my card however since it seems to outperform alot of newer cards.

  19. #19
    Hybrid's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Juliano View Post
    Just in passing, I have a 6970 here at 1080p and I get very good FPS with most settings on FULL or HIGH. I'm not saying there isn't an issue with ATI, but there isn't one across the board, so it will take some looking into for sure to see if certain configurations may be having a problem, etc. Any additional info will be helpful of course...

    Also, again just in passing, Use Application Settings IS recommended though, IIRC...
    True. I have that on for almost everything.
    And just decide ingame for different games what i want to use. Instead od ATI controlling it all.

  20. #20
    Cracheur's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Luxembourg
    300-400 FPS? Thats' like saying that you need 1000hp car to drive to the supermarket to buy milk.
    Sorry but this is absolutely useless. Neither your Monitor nor you eyes need more than 60 FPS to have absolutely smooth experience. (anyway, if you enable Vsync, your FR will anyway be bottlenecked at 60FPS).

Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •