Home
News
rFactor 2
rFactor 1
Forums
Contact
Company
Technology
Image Space Inc. YouTube rFactor 2 Twitter Image Space Inc. Google Plus rFactor 2 Facebook
NRT Servers
Try or Buy rFactor 2
$43.99/84.99 Windows Only PCDL
Download rFactor 2 Demo Now!

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 522 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 152

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Framerate Stuttering

  1. #21
    MarcG's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Firstly glad I'm not the only one!

    Secondly I had stuttering at Spa in the 1960s car but megane at mills was by far worse.

    I'm at work now but have a few ideas from this thread and will try them later, please continue to post any fixes or ideas and maybe we can help ISI with this, thanks.

  2.   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #22
    Scott Juliano's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Not Validated PC Specification 

    Location
    Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by slowpace View Post
    Hi guys. First post.

    I have the stuttering problem too. I found that the problem is with my forcefeedback. When I turn forcefeedback off from the menu all stuttering is gone and game runs smooth.

    My setup: Asus P5P55D-E, Intel core i7 860 @2.80GHz, 4Gb DDR3, Radeon HD 5770 catalyst version 11.12, Built in audio, Thrustmaster T500RS.
    Considering this, you may want to have a look here: http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.ph...U-usage-Issues

    Perhaps this might help you out a bit...
    __________________
    "There is no spoon..."

  3. #23
    slowpace's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    New Member
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Juliano View Post
    Considering this, you may want to have a look here: http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.ph...U-usage-Issues

    Perhaps this might help you out a bit...
    Thanks Scott! Updating the drivers for my T500RS fixed it. I actually remembered seeing that thread earlier and thinking I have to remember to update my drivers. Unfortunately my mind wonders around and I completely forgot about it. Should have done a forum search silly me. But thank you for the fast response.

    Did a quick run at Mills with Megane and I must say it feels great! And it runs as smoothly as I would expect with my current system.

  4. #24
    N0body Of The Goat's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Anyone else remember the issues that especially 8800GTS 512 users had with RF1, with unusually low framerates and how the situation was vastly improved by adding a D939.dll file to RF1's core directory (it changed where vertex buffers and such like were stored and used if I recall rightly)?

    No time this morning to try this, but I wil give this a go later on. The old dll may be uncompatible, but worth a try!

    MSI x48c motherboard | Intel Q9300 CPU | Corsair 4GB DDR2 | Nvidia 8800GTS 512 | Integrated sound card | Fanatec 911 GT3 RS (v1) + Clubsport pedals
    Sign up with www.bockbierbude.de to join their free and friendly international (not just German) community that uses custom rfactor content in their 4+ open servers!

  5. #25
    Thomas_L's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Dec 2011
    i5 2500k @ 3 GHZ
    8 GB DDR 3
    NVIDIA GTX 570 (latest driver)
    Windows 7 64 Bit

    approx. 60 FPS with the Megane on Estoril GP ... stuttering and minifreezes all the time.

  6. #26
    Jay's Avatar
     

    New Member
    Jan 2012
    Location
    uk
    Ive also got a 9600gt and got all the same problems.
    Could run rfactor easy on full everything but this wont run above 30fps with everything on low

  7. #27
    magicfr's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lyon, France
    got 15fps to 30fps in triple screen with 20 ai at spa.
    <==== Spec here

  8. #28
    F2kSel's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    May 2011
    First time in the Megane and fames were 42 for a few corners then it starts to stutter or freeze frame but FPS remain the same. Undriveable.

  9. #29
    Brian Clancy's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile @SimRacingHW Where I race 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    U.K.
    Quote Originally Posted by brabham67 View Post
    I get good fps but stuttering at Mills, but only with the Megane. It gets smooth if I drive from the bonnet, though. Mill and the Megane don't seem to get along, as everything else seems to run smooth.

    CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K (stock clocks)
    GPU: nVidia GTX 460
    Ram: 8GB DDR3 1333
    Same here, only at Mills in the Megane and only occasional. Otherwise good, FPS is high n fine

    System:

    Asus P5Q B Deluxe

    Intel Q8200 quad core 2.33 Ghz O/C @ 3.5 Ghz

    8 gigs Dominator DDR3 1600 Ram

    XFX 6970 running eyefinity @ 3840x1024

    Win 7 64 Ultimate

  10. #30
    hoover's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race rF2 Rank Laptimes 

    Location
    OWL, Germany
    Knowledgeable member
    Hi, do you experience the stuttering on all parts of the track or just some sections? How many AI are you racing with, if any?

    Do you have stuttering in the Formula Renaults, too?

    Cheers, Uwe

  11. #31
    Brian Clancy's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile @SimRacingHW Where I race 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    U.K.
    only Mills with the Megane and from memory mostly on pitlane / pit exit and that area of track. AI does not seem to make any odds

  12. #32
    hoover's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race rF2 Rank Laptimes 

    Location
    OWL, Germany
    Knowledgeable member
    ok thanks, I have massive stutting at Sepang North Loop t1 / t2 and mills in the Meganes and FR35's with anything exceeding 11 AI or so, Historics OTOH are smooth as silk on those tracks. It doesn't even matter if the AI cars are visible or not, it's enough to have 19 or so of them on the track at the same time.

    Strange thing is lap one is fine in the meganes (even the pile up entering t1), the stuttering in corners starts on the 2nd lap for the meganes and in turn 4 for the fr 35s. Just trying to gather some data here as I think others may be affected, too.

    Cheers, Uwe

  13. #33
    MarcG's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    OK been home from work and done more testing, still getting the Stuttering mainly at Mills in the Meganes (worse in Cockpit but also in Bonnet & nose cam but not as bad) results as follows:

    1) Firstly tried other tracks with the Meganes same issues although Mills does appear to be the worst.
    2) F3s cars appear fine with no Stuttering at Mills
    3) Turned off FFB
    4) Turned off Mirrors
    5) Turned off Sound
    6) Checked I had latest Logitech Profiler installed (I did)
    7) nVidia Settings for rfactor2.exe changed to as much as Appliocation COntrolled would allow, if not then set to Off or Default
    8) Native Windows resolution of 1900x1200 32-bit used for running the game
    9) All settings on low, gradually turned up to Medium
    10) No AI in Practice sessions

    I cant now think of anything more to try apart from editing the PLR maybe? thats all I can think of, the FPS in general does seem to be too low with everything Off and a single car on track but I'll attack that area once the Stuttering is (hopefully) fixed.

    One last thing rFactor1 has issues with latest nVidia Drivers, going back to version 266 has fixed this for others so maybe I give that a whirl, trouble is thats going back a long way and my other games wont like that!

    Again, keep ideas coming, I'll be here all evening

  14. #34
    Marcel van der Linden's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Dec 2010
    Same here. I have HD4870 i7 2600k 8gb 60gb ssd win7 64bit. playing 1680x1050.
    I have with almost everything on medium 40-50 fps. The 4 left-under options off (like someone said on forum to get more fps). aa 8X.
    on better settings i run rfactor 1 with 180-200 fps. Thats a huge diffrence. I think i need a NASA computer to run it smoothly.
    For me its not a big deal to turn off some grafics but i want to drive it smooth like rfactor 1.

  15. #35
    Novis's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Running with graphics options maxed out I only get around 15-30 fps. Turning them down a notch and disabling a few features improved the frame rate to around 50 fps. That is according to the game... however it feels more like 5 fps. Massive stuttering! Worst with cockpit view in Megane.

    Turning graphics options way further down (100+ fps) finally removes the stuttering and makes the game playable.

  16. #36
    Alex Ball's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    UK
    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher Snow View Post
    Not worried though. I'm sure it can be sorted.

    MSI GTX580 Lightning Extreme video card with 3GB of main memory. 16GB of memory on the mobo, i2600K (not yet overclocked so running at stock speed). That's 19GB total, so I'm fine there (Win7-64 Ult).

    2TB disc, pretty much empty, and a 128 GB SSD if needed.

    The machine is not causing my problem. I suspect my install might be, however.

    I run using a 60Hz limited projector (@1920x1080P/32) and generally see 300-600 FPS in rF1...so I wouldn't expect things to be substantially worse in even the rF2 beta...

    ...but it's a slideshow right now (and undriveable). The car "hops" forward fifty feet or so...then hops again...all while the FPS is up in the 160 range. So it isn't a GPS issue.

    What I did do is install to two subfolders located side-by-side inside another, one labled "CORE" and a second one "DATA." Perhaps I'd be better off installing DATA to an entirely seperate drive altogether (such as my SSD?). Seems to me that's the best idea anyway if only to promote faster "level" (track) loading.

    Thoughts or ideas welcome.


    CS
    Mine does this too, but only at Mills

  17. #37
    jizwizard's Avatar
     

    New Member
    Jan 2012
    right been running msi afterburner to monitor gpu usage when stuttering happens. when it does my gpu usage drops to 40%. so the game itself is badly optimised. even when its running smooth my card will not go above 80% usage so im not maxing the card at all.

  18. #38
    Jaageri's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Finland
    No stuttering here, instead other cars seem to move like 3 frames forward and 2 frames back, maybe AA problem?
    Game runs between 75-150fps.

    Xp with 4gb ram ddr2-800, Intel CoreDuo 8400 at 3.4ghz and a Gf8800 GTS 512mb,resolution at 1280x960.

  19. #39
    Trebor901's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Dec 2011
    mine is stuttering aswell, ive got quad core 2.4ghz, 4gb ram and an nvidia gtx 460.

    Mine runs between 30 and 50fps but i get a 15 - 20 fps drop as soon as i drive out of the garage and onto the pit lane.

  20. #40
    johnnyw's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    I have to say im quite amazed how bad framerate is. In rf1 with maxed out settings im getting around 400fps but with this game and max settings im only getting 70-100fps, i know that still plenty but cant see that big difference in gfx quality beetween these 2 games that it would explain fps dive like that. This is DX9 game afterall.

    My comp is

    i5 2500K @ 4.7Ghz
    Asus GTX 580 Matrix platinium
    8Gb 1600MHz ram
    Crucial M4 64Gb SSD + 1Tb seagate hdd
    Corsair AX650
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •