Home
News
rFactor 2
rFactor 1
Forums
Contact
Company
Technology
Image Space Inc. YouTube rFactor 2 Twitter Image Space Inc. Google Plus rFactor 2 Facebook
NRT Servers
Try or Buy rFactor 2
$43.99/84.99 Windows Only PCDL
Download rFactor 2 Demo Now!

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 655 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 87

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: Controller Limits

  1. #41
    Lazza's Avatar

     PC Specification Where I race 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by LesiU View Post
    You don't have 256 bits...as that would be about 1.16*10^77 of available values.
    I thought it was pretty obvious when he said '256 bits of resolution' he meant 'parts' or 'pieces' or 'steps'. The result is the same... 3 values per mm, which is easily enough for any human.

  2. #42
    LesiU's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race Modding Group: SimRacingPL 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Well, if "bits" for him meant "pieces" then ok, but that's not what "bits" actually mean in computer world

  3. #43
    ADSTA's Avatar

     PC Specification Where I race 

    Registered
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    No, you're right.
    By bits I meant pieces or steps.
    Was not referring to bits and bytes.

    As I said those numbers (and terms) came from memory and I should not trust my memory too much. Old age is creeping up on me too fast. Doesn't help when the years 16-25 are a blur of over indulgence.
    To all the youngsters out there, moderation is the key, or if you're really smart, "Just Say No".

  4. #44
    mikeyk1985's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Not Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    I think that A) I feel a fool for taking part in such an intelligent conversation with my own ignorant views
    B) Someone from ISI needs to answer this ASAP before a battle breaks out, lol.

  5. #45
    MaXyM's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile @@MaXyM_SRPL 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Prague / CR
    There is another reason to use 3rd party controller for pedals. I'm using LoadCell modification for my G25 pedals. Maximum pressure of such modified brake pedal (about 40kg) refers to about 60% of G25 pedal controller range. It lowers your brake resolution significantly (from 256 steps to about 150). Moreover if you want to simulate some dead-zone of pedal, you must sacrifice additional resolution for this. After this, if you check brake pedal movement in controller menu of rF, you manage that it is not smooth any more. There are vissible value-to-value jumps.

    Does it matter or not - it's beyond of this discussion. But for sure this behaviour is not similar to real car one, I'm sure.
    With Bodnar's controller (I own 10bit one, but there is 12bit available), value changes got back to smoth as expected.

    BTW: From my knowledge (as programmer) and technical point of view, there is no problem to support all controllers as long as they registered in operating system (Windows).

  6. #46
    Derek Speare's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida - USA
    My soon to be released 12 bit controller boards have integrated load cell amps with variable gain control to ensure that you can adjust your personal, relative maximum braking pressure while still preserving the entire bandwidth of the channel. My 10 bit boards have this as well as my free standing load cell amps. This is the same as the "trim knob" found on the Fanatec Clubsports. Only a guy who spends time on the track would know the value

    d

  7. #47
    ADSTA's Avatar

     PC Specification Where I race 

    Registered
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Bump.

    Quote Originally Posted by ADSTA View Post
    So now a question to ISI.
    Is the 4 controller limit in rF2 set in concrete or is there a chance to expand the limit?

  8. #48
    Derek Speare's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida - USA
    Quote Originally Posted by ADSTA View Post
    Bump.
    Bump to the second power

  9. #49
    LesiU's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race Modding Group: SimRacingPL 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Poland
    And from me juicy big wet bump

  10. #50
    ADSTA's Avatar

     PC Specification Where I race 

    Registered
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Bumpity bumpity bump again back to page 1.

    Quote Originally Posted by ADSTA View Post
    So now a question to ISI.
    Is the 4 controller limit in rF2 set in concrete or is there a chance to expand the limit?
    3800+ views.
    It seems people are interested in this topic.

  11. #51
    Bounty's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Newer Member
    Jan 2012
    Location
    London
    I'd like to see more as well.

  12.   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #52
    Tim Wheatley's Avatar ISI Staff

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification @timwheatley1979 YouTube Channel Twitch/Streaming Channel Photo/Screenshot sharing profile 

    Location
    USA (Central)
    Quote Originally Posted by ADSTA View Post
    So now a question to ISI.
    Is the 4 controller limit in rF2 set in concrete or is there a chance to expand the limit?
    Not that I've heard, but that doesn't mean no. So take that as written.

  13. #53
    ADSTA's Avatar

     PC Specification Where I race 

    Registered
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thanks for the reply.

  14. #54
    Stefaan's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Newer Member
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    +1 for more then 4 controllers,

    I have CST pedals, t500 wheel, th8rs H shifter and a frex SEQ shifter.

    With this high end hardware the reality is that you end up with 3 controllers vs a combo pack like a G27 which I assume only counts as one controller for the same functionality.

    Today my Derek Spear button box arrived which now makes it 5 controllers and I don't consider this type of setup abnormal for a sim racer.

    Thx

  15. #55
    Paul_Ceglia's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Not Validated PC Specification Where I race 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    +1 on upping limit i just bought another box but i can't use it so its a 80 dollar paperweight.............with buttons

  16. #56
    Brian Clancy's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile @SimRacingHW Where I race 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    U.K.
    I have a whole host of customers who would love to see upping the limit

    It would not be hard to go to 7 or 8 controllers (seriously) and whilst many would not, a larger and larger section of the community use more and more hardware to improve their simulations..


  17. #57
    Cracheur's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Luxembourg
    Technically, I don't see why there should be any kind of limit.
    However, I'd like to remind about one general issue with RF2: Controller IDs. RF2 uses id1/id2 etc...to map the commands. If you physically add a new controller there a good chances that it gets ID 1 > all mapping will be wrong. I already suggested to use controller names instead of ids to avoid this issue but I never got a reply from ISI so far....

  18. #58
    MKD's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by CdnRacer View Post
    Substantial in number yes, but substantial in actual output, I don't think so. I've tried both and it was not a noticeable difference. It had absolutely no difference in lap times for me either. I've even watched my inputs very closely in replays and the resolution difference was very negligible. I would suspect plugging your pedals into a separate USB has more of a placebo effect than anything.
    If you tried and notice no difference A it wasnt working or B you werent working c you have cement shoes and limited feeling in your senses..

  19. #59
    MKD's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Mar 2012
    I have currently LT gt 27 , 27 pedals and bodnar USB cable , Derek S button box, symprojects revburner, symprojects spi-d, symprojects proshift with buttons. All work fine.

    I see no reason why they can not accommodate more , and people that need them have them and those that feel it is unnecessary , can plug in to , well another spot...

  20. #60
    Guy Moulton's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Facebook profile YouTube Channel Where I race LiveRacers Driver Page 

    Registered
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    I hope ISI supports more than 3 controllers in the end product. I've run into this problem in the past and there's no need of it in a modern sim. This is exactly the type of thing that the new generation of sims needs to address- not just making the game prettier.

    Wheel
    pedals
    h-shifter or sequential
    button box
    hand brake (they have touted in the past the advanced gravel physics rF2 will have)

    those are the easy and obvious ones and that's only 5
    www.virtualsportscarracing.com For the best quality Sportscar racing on the net. We race several different sims, check us out today.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •