Home
News
rFactor 2
rFactor 1
Forums
Contact
Company
Technology
Image Space Inc. YouTube rFactor 2 Twitter Image Space Inc. Google Plus rFactor 2 Facebook
Mediafire
Try or Buy rFactor 2
$43.99/84.99 Windows Only PCDL
Download rFactor 2 Demo Now!

NOTICE Notice: This is an old thread and information may be out of date. The last post was 935 days ago. Please consider making a new thread.
Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 5678910111213 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 180 of 264

  Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.   Thread: RF2 over LAN?

  1. #161
    karmatose's Avatar
     

    New Member
    Nov 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Litchfield View Post
    Matchmaker goes down and I have essentially lost access to an essential part of the product I have purchased.
    I play BlackOps via Steam. A lot. I haven't even played the single player campaign and only bought it exclusively for online play (and zombies, which I play single player quite frequently). There's been a few times where I couldn't play because I couldn't access the server list. It's frustrating for a few minutes, but I just take a look at the other games in my Steam library, pick one and be happy.

    ... That or I go outside and work on my E30.

  2. #162
    Dave Millard's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tucson Freekin Arizona
    < Real names...What a novel Idea, Dave Millard.

  3. #163
    CdnRacer's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Location
    Guess
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Millard View Post
    < Real names...What a novel Idea, Dave Millard.

    Fear the Beard!

  4. #164
    pitkin's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Dec 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Revvin View Post
    I was always under the impression that the license/activation system allowed you the extra install so you could install rFactor on a gaming PC away from your home for you to use not to allow your friends or family a free copy. Thats possibly one of the reason's why an account system has been brought in to recoup some of the money lost to people doing that.
    Well, that may be true, but my friends aren't going to buy a copy of the game just so they can play it for a couple of hours a week if they happen to come around to my house. They've lost no money. They don't own PC's, so they wouldn't be buying anyway. They were playing because it worked for us at the time. There are other games around, RF1 for starters. I'm really not that bothered, but it would have been nice, that's all.
    Last edited by pitkin; 11-05-11 at 03:44 AM.

  5. #165
    pitkin's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Dec 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Beam View Post
    take this time to pause for a song...

    Very true.

    But there's no harm in trying to influence things is there?
    Negotiating, compromising, talking, asking, even fighting.
    It's how we evolve, make progress. If we all just stood around making do with whatever was given to us without complaint, would we have all the things we have in life now?

    If you don't agree with something, see if you can get it changed. If you can't, well, at least you tried.
    Last edited by pitkin; 11-05-11 at 03:44 AM.

  6. #166
    NOxy's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Nov 2011
    Question for ISI: Can you host a LAN game with a 56K dialup connection?

  7. #167
    michael1's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification Where I race Modding Group: F1RUK 

    Location
    Liverpool port
    i say get rid of lan and cracks then mabe less cheaters also

  8. #168
    Guineapiggy's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Apr 2011
    People cheat over your LAN? Do you not get on with your family/flatmates?

  9. #169
    MarcG's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Raal Names for me is'nt a problem, but there are some who dont wish to use theirs and I'm fine with that. Also parents might not want their under-16 year old blastng his/her real name around the internet so you have to think of the children!!

  10. #170
    the_last_name_left's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by NOxy View Post
    Question for ISI: Can you host a LAN game with a 56K dialup connection?
    Since when was a dialup part of a LAN?



    -----

    On the wider point -

    I hated this idea of the subscription at first, especially the phoning-home malarkey, but I am coming 'round to it.

    Realistically, it doesn't change all that much, does it? The biggest real gripe is the LAN-party issue, but how many will that effect? And it isn't as if it makes it impossible, just a little more unwieldly.

    People paying for dedi's and modders - well, whilst it might feel a bit like you're having to pay to use your own stuff, it isn't actually like that, is it? It's actually to prevent piracy, and to help provide a consistent platform so that your users get the right mod and track (and providing stats) whilst ensuring ISI get a steady stream of income (which hopefully ensures rf's longevity and continued development.) The dedis are online already, right, as are the users.....so where's the issue? Hopefully it will be seamless and invisible.....so who cares?

    Looked at like that, it really isn't much of an issue, is it?

    Hopefully the Beta will put to bed all these concerns, and we can get back to racing, and marvelling at our new platform.

    Besides, at least this news changed the complaining from "real reflections need a doppler Oren-Nayer-Blinn material with a zplaned 32 bit multi-layers anisotropic whatsit to be really effective - will we gets it?" blah blah blah.

  11. #171
    Kalle Lints's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Sep 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by the_last_name_left View Post
    Since when was a dialup part of a LAN?
    Well. If you play multiplayer game in LAN then you need internet only for connecting to the server. After that u dont need internet at all. So the answer would be yes. You can host LAN game.

  12. #172
    RacerXtc's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Oct 2011
    Well I own a coffee shop with 15 legal games of rf1 I got by purchasing 15 g25 steering wheels, I also have 15 cockpits set up with monitors... All connected on a lan for our customers.. at present it is great for a father son get away to have some fun racing. with Rf2 coming out are you requiring me to get 15 licenses for on line play only? No LAN that would kill it for me... I can't get accounts for everybody that wants to race .. But I know 80% of our customers that have tried rfactor at my shop went home to buy there own rigs and there own copy of rfactor to practice at home. How will this effect my good times..? all my customers would have to create there own account to race at my coffee shop? or will there be a work around for certain circumstances? Everybody that races has there own profile and we keep points so I can't be the only one to log in..Just wondering what to do...Thanks Guys can't wait!!!
    Last edited by RacerXtc; 11-06-11 at 04:32 PM.

  13. #173
    Kalle Lints's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Sep 2011
    I think you can buy as many licenses as you have computers and log there in yourself and let them use the game. Its little more work but that would be stupid if everyone get license just for racing in your shop Every computer can use only one account for driving at the time :P

  14. #174
    Lazza's Avatar

     PC Specification Where I race 

    Registered
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by RacerXtc View Post
    Well I own a coffee shop with 15 legal games of rf1 I got by purchasing 15 g25 steering wheels,
    Heading off-topic for a sec, are you sure you got the game with the wheels? When I bought my G25 there was an rFactor disc, but it was the demo... no license included. (content-limited demo, not the later time-limited demo)

    I don't know if we have details yet on how driver 'accounts' are handled in rF2, I think we know (!) you can't just lay down another install folder for each user, but being able to have different driver profiles (and some stats), separate to any licence-specific stats, might be a question mark?

    As for making the LAN itself work, you'd just need a net connection all the machines can use to send their (presumably) few kB to when starting up, joining your server, and maybe when each race finishes (or that just comes from the server - not sure). Wouldn't expect it would need to be a huge connection since it's not used for any of the actual game data.

  15. #175
    RacerXtc's Avatar
     

    Newer Member
    Oct 2011
    Yup your right Lazza, I contacted my network admin and he said we purchased 15 Licenses 1 for each system. they were all rfactor demo's to start with ..It's been a few years now. and I know i will have to buy 15 copies of rfactor2. that's not an issue. But thanks for your help I think I will just have to wait and see... I still can't wait )

  16. #176
    Foxtrot's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Nov 2011
    Hi.

    Where's your coffeeshop? A 15 pc rFactor lan sounds like good times.

  17. #177
    the_last_name_left's Avatar
     

    Registered
    Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Kalle Lints View Post
    Well. If you play multiplayer game in LAN then you need internet only for connecting to the server. After that u dont need internet at all. So the answer would be yes. You can host LAN game.
    ah - of course. my bad, sorry. Now a dial-up IS part of a LAN - because of phoning home. lol

  18. #178
    John.Persson's Avatar

     rFactor 2 Validated PC Specification 

    Registered
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Sweden / Stockholm
    One way could be some sort of ACTIVATION CODE for 48 hours that you can get from MatchMaker that enables LAN possibilites.

    So friends whos gonna sit in a LAN can get codes from someone who has internet or from their home before they go to the lan. Just bring an activation code from your online account from MM.


    But that would open up for a way to hack it more easily i guess for online play.

    Any thought's on this?
    Yours faithfully, Vrooom vroom!

  19. #179
    maatriks's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Estonia
    That would kill the idea why matchmaker is required in the firstplace. How to verify, if the code is correct if offline? This would lead to quick .... and ISI would lose money = ISI would not be able to focus so much on rFactor 2 development = we would not get so much extra content = bad.

    I am sure this will not happen, matchmaker is and will be the only possibility to play multiplayer games. (99.9253%)

  20. #180
    Guineapiggy's Avatar

     PC Specification 

    Registered
    Apr 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by John.Persson View Post
    One way could be some sort of ACTIVATION CODE for 48 hours that you can get from MatchMaker that enables LAN possibilites.

    So friends whos gonna sit in a LAN can get codes from someone who has internet or from their home before they go to the lan. Just bring an activation code from your online account from MM.


    But that would open up for a way to hack it more easily i guess for online play.

    Any thought's on this?
    Activation codes are very easily cracked. I can guarantee that every major commercial piece of software that verifies exclusively via a key check will be or ultimately has been cracked. ISI would not only be complicating their software more but shooting themselves in the foot by doing it.

Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 5678910111213 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •