PDA

View Full Version : Live Data Telemetry?



adrian32
05-28-11, 06:33 PM
I am in the process of making a simulator and i would like Live data telemetry like you get in F1. I have only found sim tools which displays certain data but nothing seems to display the graphs you see in motec live on a seperate monitor even a different computer.

Also i have one other question I want to have another screen displaying the same view from in the car on a sperate monitor and computer.

Lazza
06-02-11, 01:22 AM
First thing you would need is something that can accept live data... I don't think Motec does, although there may be some sort of capability with their commercial devices (I imagine finding reference material on how it works would be pretty difficult). If you can find a telemetry tool that can accept data sent over a connection, you just need someone to write a plugin to send the data to it - the actual plugin coding is probably easier than finding a suitable telemetry tool and the connection/data protocol needed.

adrian32
06-02-11, 11:53 AM
Motec actually make a program that is meant for live telemetry so maybe a plugin could pull data from the game and send it to there? I have no idea where to start with a plugin though... I would be willing to pay someone to make me one though.

MaXyM
06-02-11, 12:16 PM
as Lazza said, firstly you have to get specification of communication protocol. After that you may start to think about writing the plugin.

Nodo
06-02-11, 12:39 PM
Also i have one other question I want to have another screen displaying the same view from in the car on a sperate monitor and computer.

- VGA card must support 2 screens.
- Look in the graphics options (Ej. nvidia) option Set up multiple displays, select the option The same on both display (clone)

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-SnYxXKfBiGQ/Tee97kog6WI/AAAAAAAAAE0/PIcrypSLaxw/s1600/multidisplay.jpg

adrian32
06-02-11, 12:46 PM
Thanks nodo will try that, My graphics card can support three screens so i will be okay on that front.

Well how do i go about finding the communications protocol for the motec telemetry or any other telemetry software?

Jorgen
06-02-11, 01:44 PM
I stumbled across this little app a while ago. I haven't tested it myself, but it looks like it has most of the info that you would need to compose a real time telemetry skin.
http://users.telenet.be/riptor/rfsh/

adrian32
06-02-11, 04:06 PM
I had a look at this but it will only display the values and not plot them on a graph.

Nodo
06-02-11, 06:12 PM
Another program (PD rFactor v1.1) interesting real-time telemetry using a second monitor.

- Installation: Copy the Plugins folder PDPluginEasy.dll

- Run rFactor_PD_V1.1.exe
- To choose the connection (none, server, client)
- Scan Time (low is best)
- You can customize the background, colors, Car and more (carskin.gif, PDSkin.jpg)
- supports multiple languages

All credits Nye

is not you are looking but we are make progress :)

Link Donwload (http://t2sp.darkstargamers.com/t2sp/Utilidades/rFactor_PD_V1.1.rar)
More inf. Link (http://www.comunidadt2sp.es/foro/38-varios/34787-rfactor-pd)

http://t2sp.darkstargamers.com/t2sp/Utilidades/rFactorPD.jpg

adrian32
06-03-11, 06:34 AM
Both of these programs suggested are like the sim monitor for example they all do basically the same thing, what i wanted was what you see in motec for example displayed in real time for the graphs moving in real time like in Formula one.

Lazza
06-17-11, 04:18 AM
Which Motec program does live data?

Frank Geyer
06-17-11, 06:41 AM
Hi,

Some drivers also uses GTR-XD ( http://www.vitumo.de/ ) with rFactor. Don't know if the current version still supports rFactor without any flaws !?!? Maybe you have to downgrade to an older Version of the XD tool. Some say it can interfere your game play and will cut down the stability of rFactor and they don't uses it at an actual race, but it's good for practice sessions to get the live telemetry data. So give it a try and test it by yourself ...

Another thingy would be rFDynHUD ( http://www.ctdpworld.org/news/items/rfdynhud-120.html ), but I don't have any experience on that. Maybe another forum member can spread its experience on this tool.

Cheers
Frank

JuanitoRPM
06-17-11, 09:03 AM
Here you can to find the information for make a plugin that runs the Motec in realtime.

http://www.motec.com/software/latestreleases/

Lazza
06-17-11, 08:52 PM
I'm pretty sure the OP wants live graph updating, rather than just current data. Motec has a fair list of software (as linked to by Juanito) but I don't know which, if any, actually do live graphing. Certainly can't find anything in i2 pro. Their telemetry monitor appears to be another 'current data' tool, not graphing.

Petros Mak
07-04-11, 11:30 PM
With the new sim-hardware products we're developing and hoping to release this year, there will be real-time (real life style) telemetry data showing graphs, allowing you to save any lap graph and reload/compare, and shows graphs for nearly every possible data call function available for the cars in rfactor. Things like, speed, gear, throttle, braking, RPM, Water Temp, Oil Temp, Clutch, Steering, etc. This telemetry system will also be compatible with every game the unit is compatible with, rF/rF2, LFS, GTR Series, DiRT, Shift series, etc. As for iRacing, we don't know what we'll do that because they do often update the game and change data call functions as they did previously which made our older units not work with that game anymore until we update the firmware. The telemetry system is in its own window too so if you have multiple screens, you can move it to another screen and analyze it while still in game. We've been testing the rF version of it for some time now and its been working flawlessly.

adrian32
12-06-11, 04:06 PM
With the new sim-hardware products we're developing and hoping to release this year, there will be real-time (real life style) telemetry data showing graphs, allowing you to save any lap graph and reload/compare, and shows graphs for nearly every possible data call function available for the cars in rfactor. Things like, speed, gear, throttle, braking, RPM, Water Temp, Oil Temp, Clutch, Steering, etc. This telemetry system will also be compatible with every game the unit is compatible with, rF/rF2, LFS, GTR Series, DiRT, Shift series, etc. As for iRacing, we don't know what we'll do that because they do often update the game and change data call functions as they did previously which made our older units not work with that game anymore until we update the firmware. The telemetry system is in its own window too so if you have multiple screens, you can move it to another screen and analyze it while still in game. We've been testing the rF version of it for some time now and its been working flawlessly.

How are you getting on with this please, is it ready for download or purchase yet?